Family Law

Family Law

Divorce or Separation

You are going through a separation or a divorce. A family breakup is one of the most difficult events to have to go through. Moreover, it raises important questions. These questions may be about the custody of your children, their education, the potential award of child support, the usage and dwelling of the family residence or the partition of assets.

Partition of assets

You must divide your assets. The partition of assets is done according to your civil status. If you were common-law spouses, the division of property will be subject to each spouse’s property rights. If you were married, the partition will be governed by the rules of family patrimony and your matrimonial regime.

Adoption

You wish to have your parental rights recognized. There are ways to have your paternity recognized and to oblige the other parent to submit to a DNA test. There are other avenues that will allow you to adopt a child, whether he is your spouse’s child or the object of a future project. In every case, it is essential to keep in mind that the establishment of filiation entails obligations toward the child, such as the right to child support. READ our article on adoption.

Common-law spouses

You are living as common-law spouses. Couples living as common-law spouses do not have the same rights as married couples. In fact, common-law spouses are more vulnerable, particularly in cases of separation or in the case of the death of the other spouse. It is therefore useful to protect yourself by having a Cohabitation Contract in order to avoid any ambiguity in case of a separation. READ our article on common-law spouses.

Moving away

One of the parents decides to move away. In certain cases, the moving of a parent may require the Court’s permission. This is particularly the case when it is likely that it will affect the parental rights of the other parent,that it entails additional costs or that it forces a change of school. Moving away is not a decision to be taken lightly. READ our article on moving away.

Here is a summary of some our fields of expertise :

  • Spousal Support
  • Partition of the Family Patrimony
  • Dissolution of the Matrimonial Regime
  • Compensatory Allowance
  • Financial Interests of Common-law Spouses
  • Claims resulting from an Unjust Enrichment
  • Partition of a Tacit Partnership
  • Provisional sum
  • Private International Matrimonial Law
  • Creation of express trusts
  • Full range of litigation services
  • Representation with regards to domestic and family violence

a
Sed a nunc tempor, mattis felis eget, facilisis dui. Etiam tincidunt sem vel ornare laoreet.

DIVORCE OU SÉPARATION

Vous vivez une séparation ou un divorce. L’éclatement d’une famille est l’une des épreuves les plus difficiles à vivre et soulève, au surplus, d’importantes questions. Ces questions peuvent porter sur la garde de vos enfants, leur éducation, l’attribution d’une pension alimentaire, l’habitation de la résidence familiale ou encore le partage des biens.

ADOPTION

Vous souhaitez faire reconnaître vos droits en tant que parent. Il existe des moyens de faire reconnaître votre paternité et d’obliger l’autre parent à se soumettre à un test d’ADN. Il existe également des avenues qui vous permettront d’adopter un enfant, qu’il fasse l’objet d’un projet futur ou qu’il soit l’enfant de votre conjoint(e). Dans tous les cas, il est essentiel de se rappeler que l’établissement des liens de filiation emporte l’imposition d’obligations envers ces enfants, tel que le droit à une pension alimentaire. À LIRE, notre article sur l’adoption.

DÉMÉNAGEMENT

Un parent souhaite déménager loin. Dans certains cas, le déménagement d’un parent peut nécessiter l’obtention d’une permission du tribunal. C’est notamment le cas lorsqu’il est susceptible d’affecter les droits de garde de l’autre parent, d’engendrer d’importants coûts supplémentaires, voire même forcer un changement d’école. Il ne s’agit pas d’une décision à prendre à la légère. À LIRE, notre article sur le déménagement d’un parent.

PARTAGE DE BIENS

Vous devez partager vos biens. Le partage des biens s’effectue en fonction de votre état civil. Si vous étiez conjoints de fait, le partage des biens sera assujetti aux droits de propriété de chacun. Si vous étiez mariés, le partage des biens tiendra compte des règles sur le patrimoine familial et de votre régime matrimonial.

CONJOINTS DE FAIT

Vous vivez en union de fait (conjoint de fait). Les droits des couples vivant en union de fait ne sont pas les mêmes que ceux des couples mariés. En effet, les conjoints de fait sont plus vulnérables notamment en cas de séparation ou de décès de l’autre conjoint. Il est donc fort utile de se prémunir d’un contrat de vie commune afin d’éviter toute ambiguïté en cas de séparation. À LIRE, notre article sur les droits des conjoints de fait.

NOS CHAMPS D’EXPERTISE

Voici un résumé de quelques-uns de nos champs d’expertise

Rédaction de contrats de mariage

Rédaction de contrats de vie commune

Divorce conjoint

Divorces, séparations et dissolutions d’unions

Nullité de mariage

Filiation (reconnaissance et désaveu de paternité)

Permission de voyager

Demandes relatives à l’autorité parentale

Déchéance de l’autorité parentale

Adoption

Pension alimentaire pour les enfants

Pension alimentaire pour époux

Partage du patrimoine familial

Dissolution du régime matrimonial

Prestation compensatoire

Intérêts financiers des conjoints de faits

Réclamation résultant d’un enrichissement injustifié

Demande de partage d’une société de faits

Provision pour frais

Droit matrimonial international privé

Médiation familiale

Tout service de litige

Représentation en matière de violence conjugale et familiale

Prenez rendez-vous dès aujourd’hui