Mediation

Mediation

What is family mediation ? Family mediation can help you negotiate an agreement on an amicable basis, in the interest of all family members, and can also help reduce legal costs. The agreement may cover child custody, child support, division of assets and any other disagreement in regards to the separation. It is important to understand that everything that is said or written during mediation remains confidential and cannot be repeated or filed in court if the negotiations fail.

What is the mediation process ? Firstly, the mediator explains his/her role and the process, evaluates your situation, helps you to identify the topics and asks you to sign a mediation contract which outlines the rules. In subsequent sessions, the mediator will assist you in resolving the specific topics. Once the sessions are complete, the mediator writes a report on all the elements you will have agreed upon.

What are the costs related to mediation ? To promote family mediation, since 2012, the government pays the fees of certified family mediator. Therefore, you could be eligible to 5 hours of free professional services, if you are in the process of separating or 2 hours 30 minutes, if you already have an agreement or court judgment but wish to have it reviewed, if you have already received family mediation services, or if you have already obtained a judgment ordering separation from bed and board (legal separation).

Here is a summary of some our fields of expertise :

  • Information Session and Mediation
  • Drafting of Agreements

FAQ

Family mediation is a way to resolve family conflicts. It is aimed at couples who are in a separation or already separated, with or without children, whether they are married or common-law . It provides a space-time within which to discuss issues relating to child custody, child support, sharing of property or any other matter of discord between you.

It is therefore not a couple therapy since the process focuses rather on the psychological-legal aspects of a separation.

To try meditation, it is not necessary to agree beforehand or even to share the same vision. The only prerequisite is the willingness to take the time to try to find solutions to facilitate this family transition. The role of the mediator is to facilitate communication between you and to propose solutions.

It should be known that the judicial process can sometimes stretch over several months or even more than a year. In the end, a judge will decide which direction to give to your new family situation. By its nature, the agreement concluded in mediation has the effect of empowering each of the parties and, above all, giving you control over what happens to you.

In short, you have nothing to lose by using mediation, but everything to be gained, which is a fair agreement and adapted to the needs of all members of the family, at a lower cost.

No. It is never too late to use mediation. This is often a way to re-establish dialogue between you and to clean up your relationships. If you are already represented, your lawyer will be able to provide you with the legal basis for the negotiations, as well as revise and ratify the final agreement to the Court, if applicable.

Anything that is said or written in mediation is strictly confidential and cannot be repeated or produced in court. Thus, in the event that mediation fails and you need to resort to the courts, a judge will not hold any evidence or document from your sessions.

For example, if you admit that you do not report all your income on your tax returns, the other parent will have to demonstrate this fact by factual evidence and not solely on the basis of these statements.

To encourage you to use mediation, the government has since 2012 paid the fees of accredited family mediators, regardless of your family income, whether you qualify for legal aid or not.

You have at least one dependent child You are in the process of separation 5 hours Free Beyond these hours, the hourly rate prescribed by law is $110.00.
You want to make a change to your agreement or judgment 2 hours 30 Free (*)

We actually offer a turnkey service once the agreement is reached. Our professionals can assist you with:

Lawyer Notairy
-Last verification of the validity of your agreement

-Filing of court proceedings  for approval by a judge

– Your Real estate transactions (refinancing, mortgages, sales, etc.)

– Your Personal documents (Will, protection mandate, power of attorney, etc.)

Do not hesitate to contact us for any questions related to these services.

Médiation familiale

Médiation familiale

Qu’est-ce que la médiation familiale ?

La médiation familiale peut vous aider à négocier une entente à l’amiable, dans l’intérêt de tous les membres de la famille et à réduire vos frais juridiques. L’entente peut porter sur la garde des enfants, la pension alimentaire, le partage des biens et tout autre différend lié à la séparation. Il est important de noter que tout ce qui est dit ou écrit en médiation est confidentiel et ne peut être répété ou produit en Cour si celle-ci échoue.

Quelles sont les volets de la médiation familiale ?

Tout d’abord, le médiateur vous explique le processus et son rôle, évalue votre situation, vous aide à préciser les sujets et vous demande de signer un contrat de médiation. Au cours des séances suivantes, le médiateur tente de vous aider à résoudre les points spécifiques. Une fois les séances terminées, le médiateur écrit tous les éléments sur lesquels vous vous serez entendus dans un document appelé « Résumé des ententes ».

 

Quels sont les coûts liés à la médiation ?

Pour vous encourager à y recourir, le gouvernent assume depuis 2012 le paiement des honoraires de médiateurs familiaux accrédités. Ainsi, vous pourriez bénéficier de 5 heures de services professionnels gratuites dans le cas d’un processus de séparation ou encore de 2 heures 30 de services professionnels gratuites dans le cas d’une demande de révision d’un jugement ou d’une entente ou pour des parents qui ont déjà bénéficié des services de médiation familiale ou pour des parents qui ont déjà obtenu un jugement en séparation de corps.

 

Voici un résumé de quelques-uns de nos champs d’expertise :

  • Séances d’information et de conciliation
  • Rédaction d’ententes

FAQ

La médiation familiale est un mode de résolution de conflits familiaux. Elle s’adresse aux couples, avec ou sans enfant(s), qu’ils soient mariés ou conjoints de fait et qui sont en instance de séparation ou déjà séparés. Elle offre un espace-temps à l’intérieur duquel peuvent être discutées les questions relatives à la garde d’enfant(s), à la pension alimentaire, au partage des biens ou toute autre sujet de discorde entre vous.

Il ne s’agit donc pas d’une thérapie de couple puisque le processus se concentre plutôt sur les aspects psycholégaux d’une séparation.

Pour tenter la médiation, il n’est pas nécessaire de s’entendre au préalable ni même de partager une même vision. Le seul prérequis est la volonté de prendre le temps pour tenter de trouver des solutions pour faciliter cette transition familiale. Le rôle du médiateur est alors de faciliter la communication entre vous et de proposer des pistes de solutions.

Il faut savoir que le processus judiciaire peut parfois s’étirer sur plusieurs mois, voire même plus d’une année. À son terme, c’est un juge qui décidera de la direction à donner à votre nouvelle situation familiale. Or, par sa nature, l’entente conclue en médiation a pour effet de responsabiliser chacune des parties et surtout, de vous laisser le contrôle de ce qui vous arrive.

En bref, vous n’avez rien à perdre à recourir à la médiation, mais tout à gagner, soit une entente équitable et adaptée aux besoins de tous les membres de la famille et ce, à moindres frais.

Non. Il n’est jamais trop tard pour avoir recours à la médiation. Bien souvent, une telle démarche permet de rétablir le dialogue entre vous et d’assainir vos relations. Si vous êtes déjà représenté(e), votre avocat(e) pourra vous fournir les bases légales en vue des négociations de même que réviser et faire entériner l’entente finale à la Cour, s’il y a lieu.

Tout ce qui est dit ou écrit en médiation est strictement confidentiel et ne peut être répété ou produit en Cour. Ainsi, advenant que la médiation échoue et que vous ayez besoin de recourir aux tribunaux, un juge ne retiendra aucun témoignage ou document émanant de vos séances.

Par exemple, si vous admettez que vous ne déclarez pas tous vos revenus sur vos rapports d’impôt, l’autre parent devra démontrer ce fait par des preuves factuelles et non pas uniquement sur la foi de ces propos.

Pour vous encourager à recourir à la médiation, le gouvernent assume depuis 2012 le paiement des honoraires de médiateurs familiaux accrédités et ce, peu importe votre revenu familial, que vous soyez admissible(s) à l’aide juridique ou non.

Vous avez au moins un enfant à charge Vous êtes en processus de séparation 5 heures gratuites Au-delà de ces heures, le taux horaire prescrit par la loi est de 110,00$.
Vous voulez apporter un changement à votre entente ou à votre jugement 2 heures 30 gratuites(*)

Nous offrons effectivement un service clé en main une fois l’entente conclue. Nos professionnel(les) peuvent vous assister avec :

Avocat(e) Notaire
–   Dernière vérification de la légalité de votre entente

–   Dépôt des procédures à la Cour pour homologation par un juge

–   Vos transactions immobilières (refinancement, assumation hypothécaire, vente, etc.)

–   Vos documents personnels (testament, mandat de protection, procuration, etc.)

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour toute question relative à ces services.