Elder Law

Elder Law

Access Rights to Grandchildren

Your daughter-in-law/son-in-law prevents you from seeing your grandchildren. Parents cannot stop grandchildren from having a relationship with their grandparents, unless there is a serious reason. If it is difficult or impossible for you to see your grandchildren because of the parents’ refusal, you can file a motion in Court to obtain access rights to your grandchildren. READ our article on access rights to grandchildren.

Mandate in Anticipation of Incapacity

After an accident, a close relative loses the ability to take care of himself/herself. It may be difficult to determine whether or not a person is incapacitated, for emotional reasons or by lack of knowledge. To do so, you must seek professional advice. This evaluation is a necessary step to putting into place protective supervision or homologating a mandate in anticipation of incapacity. READ our article on mandate in anticipation of incapacity.

Succession

A close relative dies. The first thing to look after is funeral arrangements for which the costs are covered by the succession. Depending on the content of the Will, such responsibility may be entrusted to the liquidator. A search must then be done to find out if there is a Will and if this Will is indeed the last one. In the absence of a Will, you must refer to the laws of the Civil Code regarding the liquidation of the estate. READ our article on succession.

Here is a summary of some our fields of expertise :

Droit des aînés

Droit des aînés

Droits d’accès des grands-parents

Votre belle-fille/beau-fils vous empêche de voir vos petits-enfants. Les parents ne peuvent, sans motif grave, faire obstacle aux relations personnelles des enfants avec leurs grands-parents. S’il vous est difficile ou impossible de voir vos petits-enfants à cause du refus des parents, vous pouvez présenter une demande à la Cour pour obtenir des droits d’accès envers vos petits-enfants. À LIRE, notre article sur les droits d’accès des grands-parents.

Mandat en cas d’inaptitude

Suite à un accident, un de vos proches perd la capacité de prendre soin de lui-même. Il peut être très difficile de déterminer si une personne est inapte et ce, pour des raisons émotives que par manque de connaissances. Pour ce faire, vous devez faire appel à un professionnel. Cette évaluation est nécessaire pour obtenir l’ouverture d’un régime de protection ou l’homologation d’un mandat en cas d’inaptitude. À LIRE, notre article sur les Mandat en cas d’inaptitude.

Succession

Un proche parent décède. Avant toute chose, il faut vous occuper des arrangements funéraires, dont les frais sont assumés par la succession. En fonction du contenu du testament, la responsabilité peut être confiée au liquidateur. Il faut ensuite voir s’il existe un testament et si ce dernier est bel et bien le dernier. En l’absence de testament, il faut se référer aux règles du Code civil sur la liquidation d’une succession. À LIRE, notre article sur la succession.

Voici un résumé de quelques-uns de nos champs d’expertise :